Public Safety & Emergency Preparedness Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 7 p.m.
  • 3rd Thursday of every January, March, May, September, and November
  • Fire Station 1, Training Room
    777 S Main Street
    Milpitas, CA 95035

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Agendas and Minutes


In August of 2018, the Commission name was amended to become the Public Safety & Emergency Preparedness Commission.  Formerly, the Emergency Preparedness Commission (EPC) was officially renamed on June 3, 2008. It was formerly the Citizen’s Emergency Preparedness Commission (CEPAC). The Commission advises the City Council regarding emergency preparedness and disaster planning. The EPC has coordinated along with the Milpitas Unified School District an emergency evacuation and mass feeding drill alternating between schools in Milpitas. The Commission is composed of dedicated volunteers who make recommendations to the City Council. The composition of the EPC is eight at-large representatives who are citizens of Milpitas or residents within the boundaries of the Milpitas Unified School District or represent a business located in Milpitas; one representative is appointed by the Milpitas Board of Education and two at-large city/school district residents as alternates.

Membership Requirements

  • Seven commissioners and two alternate members are appointed to three-year terms.


  1. Paul Ellis, Chair
    Term Expires: June 2024

  2. Michael Berryhill, Vice Chair
    Term Expires: June 2025

  3. Don Clendenin, Commissioner
    Term Expires: June 2025

  4. Evan Gan, Commissioner
    Term Expires: June 2024

  5. Jonathan Nakapalau, Commissioner
    Term Expires: June 2025

  1. Joe Nichols, Commissioner
    Term Expires: June 2023

  2. Kelly Yip-Chuan, Commissioner (MUSD)
    Term Expires: June 2026

  3. Andrew Luu, Alternate No. 1
    Term Expires: June 2025

  4. Rosana Cacao, Alternate No. 2
    Term Expires: June 2026

  5. Vienna Sun, Student Commissioner
    Term Expires: June 2026