Agendas & Minutes

Founded February 18, 2003, the Economic Development and Trade Commission advises the City Council on business issues, cultivate international trade relationships, and make recommendations on the design, development, and implementation of economic development in the City of Milpitas. 7 Commissioners and 2 Alternate Members are appointed to three-year terms.

All members and alternates shall be Milpitas residents, or own a business or be currently employed at a business located within the City limits of Milpitas.

Members of the Commission are most appropriate, but not limited to the following areas of expertise or interest:

  • Chamber of Commerce
  • Real Estate
  • Resident
  • Milpitas Unified School District/Education
  • Business
  • Technology and Trade

Statement of Economic Interest

FPPC Form 700 – Statement of Economic Interest is required to be filed by all EDC members to reveal any conflict of interest.


The Commission shall hold meetings the second Monday of every month except, July and December at 4:30 PM at the Committee Conference Room in City Hall, or a designated location.

City Council Liaison

Mayor Carmen Montano

Staff Liaisons

Alex Andrade, Economic Development Director (408) 586-3046

Daniel Degu, Economic Development Coordinator (408) 586-3054

Commission Members:

MemberOfficeRepresentingTerm Expires
Casey McNeilChairTechnologyApril 2026
Chris NorwoodVice ChairMilpitas Unified School DistrictApril 2025
Lynne RiceCommissionerRetailApril 2024
VacantCommissionerChamber of CommerceApril 2024
Parkash DaryaniCommissionerResidentApril 2024
Cheri RomeroCommissionerReal EstateApril 2024
Paul MedawarCommissionerHospitalityApril 2024
Conrad SchapiraAlternate No. 1ResidentApril 2024
Michael L. NguyenAlternate No. 2ResidentApril 2026
Stephen HuangStudent (Non-Voting Member)