Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
On the Valley Floor, basic wind speed is 85 mph (3 second Gust). In the Hillside Area, basic wind speed is 95 mph (3 second Gust) and exposure C.
Show All Answers
We are located at 455 East Calaveras Boulevard, Milpitas, CA 95035.
Our contact telephone number is 408-586-3240.
We are open Monday through Friday from 8 am to 5 pm.
Counter Service Hours
Building permits are required for new construction, remodeling and tenant Improvements, repairs, and changes of occupancy category for both Commercial and Residential projects. Construction plans and documents are reviewed for compliance with applicable State and local laws and regulations.
Mechanical permits are required for installation, reconstruction, replacement, or relocation of mechanical equipment, such as furnaces, air conditioning units, hoods, boilers, ductwork, and others.
Plumbing permits are required for installation, reconstruction, replacement, or relocation of plumbing fixtures such as sewer, water and gas lines, water heaters, sinks, water closets and others.
Electrical permits are required for the installation, reconstruction, replacement, or relocation of electrical equipment and electrical installations associated with other equipment, such as outlets, lighting fixtures, electrical wiring, electrical panels and services, signs and others.
In addition to the above listed permits, Special permits are required for such activities as Demolition, Occupancy Certifications, Installation of Signs, Mobile Homes, Pools and Spas. In some cases permits may be required from outside agencies such as Santa Clara Health Department, Water Pollution Control Plant, Bay Area Air Quality District, PG&E and others.
For buildings regulated by the California Building Code, a Building Permit is not required for the following:
(California Building Code, 105.2 – Work exempt from permit)
For buildings regulated by the California Residential Code for One- and Two- Family Dwellings, a Building Permit is not required for the following:
(California Residential Code, R105.2 – Work exempt from permit)
An Electrical Permit is not required for the following:
(California Electrical Code, 184.108.40.206 – Permits)
A Mechanical Permit is not required for the following:
(California Mechanical Code, 104.2 – Exempt Work)
A Plumbing Permit is not required for the following:
(California Plumbing Code, 104.2 – Exempt Work)
You will need to gather and provide the following information to the Building Safety Department Permit Center:
The Permit Center will respond to your request within 24 hours. If you have any questions, please contact us at 408-586-3240.
Generally, the fees you need to pay are categorized as indicated below:
You can request an estimate of your Permit fees prior to submittal of permit application package. Please refer to question "How can I get an Estimate for a Building Permit Fees".
Water heater and furnace replacement, bathroom and kitchen remodels, re-roofs, and others are available online.
Interior modifications or alterations of office spaces up to 4,000 square feet, retail spaces up to 1,500 square feet, and industrial spaces up to 5,000 square feet without use or storage of hazardous materials may qualify for over-the-counter review. Please refer to the Building Department Express Plan Review Service (PDF) handout.
Yes. You can call 408-586-3240 and request Plan Review by Appointment. Prior to calling for an appointment, please review the Plan Review by Appointment (PDF) handout to ensure your project meets the requirements.
Yes. The Building Safety Department offers this service for an additional fee based upon the availability of the staff. Please refer to the Building Permit Expedited Plan Review (PDF) handout.
After you submit your permit application package, your drawings will be routed to City Departments for review and approval. Please refer to the Building Permit Process (PDF) guidelines.
The plan review turnaround time is based on the scope of work and type of use, such as Commercial or Residential, indicated in the submittal. Please refer to the Plan Review Turnaround Time (PDF) handout for more information.
A property owner may obtain permits for any work performed. Licensed Contractors acting as the authorized agent of the property owner may obtain permits for the specific work allowed by their license.
No, the Building Permit must be issued prior to the commencement of any work.
As your construction project progresses, inspections by the City of Milpitas Building Safety inspectors are required. It is the responsibility of the person performing the work authorized by the building permit to contact the Building Safety Department to schedule an inspection. Inspections are requested and scheduled by calling the Inspection Request Line, which is open 24 hours each day.
The telephone number of the Inspection Request Line is 408-586-3259
Please refer to the Building Inspection Request Procedure (PDF) handout for more information.
Yes. Please go to the online inspection scheduling website.
If the work is not ready for inspection or if you need to cancel an inspection for any other reason, call the Inspection Request Line at 408-586-3259 before 8:30 am on the day of the scheduled inspection. Rescheduling an inspection is the same process as scheduling a new inspection. Please refer to the Building Inspection Request Procedures (PDF) handout.
The Re-inspection fee is listed in the Building Fee Schedule (PDF), and may be charged when inspections are requested and one or more of the following apply: